Home Mental Fitness And YogaTypes of meditation and benefits A guide to Chakra Meditation – What do they represent?

A guide to Chakra Meditation – What do they represent?

by Sarah Ayoub
Chakra meditation

Although there are hundreds of different chakras in the body that represent energy centers it’s most productive to focus on the seven core chakras. Following these chakras is a perfect routine for meditation for beginners. 

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Color: Red

This chakra is located at the bottom of your spine. This chakra meditation rules your connection to the wider world, your fundamental needs for food, shelter, and stability. Problems with your root chakra can cause a number of emotional and physical disturbances, especially digestive ailments. 

An individual who travels a lot and doesn’t have a home base, someone who lacks financial security, or is disconnected from the family, may need to pay some extra attention. The key to balance this chakra is to feel grounded. A quick outdoor meditation for it is to stand or walk barefoot on the ground and focus on each step while taking deep breaths.

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Color: Orange

The sacral chakra rests just below the navel. It’s closely involved in the creative process; it governs both your reproductive organs and your imagination. Balanced sacral chakra meditation is necessary for coping with new experiences and exploring the world. It is related to accepting change and connecting with others. It’s also associated with sexual energy, pleasure and passion. 

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Color: Yellow

Your solar plexus chakra sits above your navel, in your stomach. This chakra meditation is fundamental to digestion, but it also has an extensive mental and spiritual role. You can embrace the things you feel and understand your place in them when your solar plexus chakra is in balance. If its power is increased, you would want to control others. And it’s blocked, you would feel insecure and shy.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Color: Green

The heart chakra, which is located at the center of the cardiovascular system, is closely tied to the organs around it. Imbalances here can be accountable for respiratory problems and high blood pressure. Psychologically, an open and balanced heart chakra allows you to form emotional connections with others. It’s related to your emotions and it connects the upper and lower chakras.

5. Throat Chakra (Visshuddha)

Color: Blue

Located in the throat, this chakra governs communication and self-expression. A blockage in the throat chakra can cause feelings of isolation and a list of physical issues, from sensitivity to infection to hormonal imbalances. If the throat chakra is unbalanced, we aren’t speaking or honoring truth. It may be caused by being silenced in life. 

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Color: Indigo

The third eye chakra lies just above the junction of your eyebrows. This chakra is in charge of insight and intuition on both a spiritual and an earthly level. Keeping the third eye chakra in balance allows you to see how the world around you is interconnected and makes it easier to understand your place in it. It is related to our intuition and ability to look beneath the surface.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Color: Purple / White


In many ways, the crown chakra, which sits on the top of your head, is the “store end” of the primary chakras. When your chakras are in balance and your energy is healthy, the crown chakra serves as a power connection to the wider world. Maintaining a healthy crown chakra for meditation for beginner’s routine leads to a sense of peace, well-being, and confidence.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment